Dhaka, Thursday, 18 July 2019
Bangla Insider

Hosts vs defending champions

Published on : 11 July 2019, 11:37 AM
Hosts vs defending champions

Hosts England are unbeaten in the last ten matches at the Edgbaston. On the other hand, Australia did not lose in the semifinals of the last seven editions. History is giving courage to both the teams. These two premiers of cricket have reputation of showcasing their best performances in the field. So, it is expected that the second match of the semifinals will be an exciting match to watch.

England had to leave unfortunately from the first round of the 2015 World Cup. Such a frustrating incident forced England to think again about the format of one-day match. Basically, after that the English started playing `aggressive` cricket in ODIs. England`s coach Trevor Bayliss created an outline from the very beginning to make England able to get the World Cup title for the first time. And his efforts have made significant changes to the team. England, under the captaincy of Eoin Morgan, secured the top spot in ODI rankings.

Meanwhile, Australia are mentally confident this time too. Because they have defeated England by 64 runs at Lord`s last month in group stage. With 9 wickets shared by two pacers left-handed Jason Behrendorff and Mitchell Starc, captain Aaron Finch made a century. England, however, missed their `fortunate` cricketer Jason Roy in that match since he had to stay outside of the field due to a hamstring injury. However, England`s performances have been upward after his return. He helped the team to get two important victories against India and New Zealand in the next two matches.

On the contrary, Australia did not secure victory in any format at Edgbaston after the 2001 Ashes Test. Not only this, they lost to South Africa by 10 runs in the last match of the group stage.

Meanwhile, Usman Khawaja has suffered a hamstring injury in the last match against South Africa. He has been replaced by Peter Handscomb. Through this, Handscomb is going to make his debut in the World Cup. Basically, he has been called to strengthen the batting line-up.

Australia Squad: Aaron Finch (captain), David Warner, Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey (Wicket Keeper), Pat Cummins, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Kane Richardson, Peter Handscomb.

England Squad: Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood, James Vince, Jofra Archer.


Bangla Insider/ SM