Dhaka, Sunday, 16 June 2019
Bangla Insider

Tigers Opt to Bowl First Against Proteas

News Desk
Published on : 02 October 2017, 02:23 PM
Tigers Opt to Bowl First Against Proteas

Bangladesh won the toss and elected to bowl first against host South Africa in the 1st match of their two-match Test series starting at Senwes Park in Potchefstroom on Thursday.

This is Bangladesh’s 11th Test encounter against South Africa where ICC’s new rules, including DRS and sending off a player by on-field umpires for misconduct on the ground, will be applied for the first time.

Bangladesh focused on pace strength keeping Taskin Ahmed, Shafiul Islam and Mustafizur Rahman in the playing XI while Mehedi Hasan Miraz to lead the spin department.

Andile Phehlukwayo and Aiden Markram are making their Test debuts in the match for South Africa.

Mushfiqur Rahim-led Bangladesh must miss their all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan who has voluntarily skipped -- the first time for a Bangladesh player -- the Test series for a short break from the longest version cricket as BCB granted his appeal.

It is the first time Shakib isn’t a part of a national Test side since the series against West Indies in 2014.

The Tigers are on South African soil to play Test cricket after around a nine-year break as they played there last in November 2008.

Bangladesh best XI: Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Mominul Haque, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mushfiqur Rahim (captain), Liton Kumar Das, Sabbir Rahman, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Shafiul Islam and Mustafizur Rahman.

South Africa best XI: Dean Elgar, Aiden Markram, Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Faf du Plessis (captain), Quinton de Kock, Andile Phehlukwayo, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Morne Morkel and Duanne Olivier.


Source: UNB

Bangla Insider/ZRM

Tags: BDvsSA , Cricket