Dhaka, Thursday, 18 July 2019
Bangla Insider

Sylhet Sixers crash Dhaka Dynamites

Sports Desk
Published on : 04 November 2017, 04:16 PM
Sylhet Sixers crash Dhaka Dynamites Bangladesh Premier League has entered its fifth season


Debutant Syshet Sixers defeat mighty Dhaka Dynamites by 9 wickets with 3.1 overs to spare. Two foreign openers of Sylhet Sixers brought the easy victory for their team. With the target of 137 runs to win, the opening partnership scored 125 runs in 15.3 overs. Sri Lankan Upal Tharanga was unbeaten on 69 off 48 balls. The only wicket Dhaka Dynamites got was the wicket of Andre Fletcher who got out on 63 off just 51 balls. Adil Rashid took the only wicket for Dhaka Dynamites.

The Bangladesh Premier League has entered its fifth season at Sylhet International Cricket Stadium, Sylhet as defending champions Dhaka Dynamites faced Sylhet Sixers in the opening match of the tournament. The match started at 2 pm in local time. Sylhet Sixers won the toss and opted to bowl first. The world’s no. 1 all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan is the captain of Dhaka Dynamites and Nasir Hossain captained new franchise Sylhet Sixers.

The champions of the previous season, Dhaka Dynamites have scored 136/7 in 20 overs after being invited to bat first by Sylhet Sixers. Veteran Kumar Sangakkara was the highest scorer (32) and Captain Shakib Al Hasan made 23 runs. Nasir Hossain, Abul Hasan and Liam Plunkett took 2 wickets each.

Dhaka Dynamites 136/7 (20 overs)

Sylhet Sixers 137/1 (16.5/20 overs)

Upal Tharanga got the man-of-the-match prize for his brilliant knock.Sylhet Sixers Squad:

Playing XI:

Upul TharangaAndre FletcherRoss WhiteleySabbir RahmanNasir Hossain (c)Shuvagata HomNurul Hasan (wk)Taijul IslamAbul HasanLiam PlunkettKrishmar Santokie

Dhaka Dynamites Squad:

Playing XI:

Kumar Sangakkara (wk)Evin LewisShakib Al Hasan (c)Cameron DelportKieron PollardMosaddek HossainMehedi MarufMohammad ShahidAdil RashidAbu Hider RonySaqlain Sajib


Tags: BPL