Dhaka, Sunday, 24 March 2019
Bangla Insider

Smith-Warner banned for 1 year

Published on : 28 March 2018, 03:29 PM
Smith-Warner banned for 1 year


Australia captain Steve Smith and Vice-captain David Warner have been banned for one year and Cameron Bancroft has been banned for nine months from all forms of cricket for ball-tampering in the third Test in Cape Town. Cricket Australia- CA gives them this punishment.

The CA has sent delegates to South Africa to investigate this "disgusting" incident.  After the investigation of the delegation team CA has banned 3 cricketers. Being proven innocent in the same complaint, Darren Lehmann will be in force as the coach of the Australian team. The punished cricketers can challenge this verdict.

 Meanwhile, David Warner will not be seen as the team captain of the Sunrisers Hyderabad in the eleventh season of the Indian Premier League-IPL. He has left the captaincy of the team. He resigned from this post on Tuesday. Warner has stepped down from the Sunrisers after Steve Smith resigned from the captaincy of Rajasthan Royals.

Sunrisers team CEO K Shanmugam said in front of the media that due to the recent incident, David Warner resigned as captain. The new captain`s name will be announced soon.


BanglaInsider/ SM