Dhaka, Tuesday, 18 June 2019
Bangla Insider

PM gives Independence Award to 12 personalities & 1 organization

National Desk
Published on : 25 March 2019, 11:34 AM
PM gives Independence Award to 12 personalities & 1 organization

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Monday gave the Independence Award to the country’s 12 prominent personalities and one organization for their great contributions to the country. She handed over the award at a function at city’s Bangabandhu International Conference Center.

It is to be noted that the Independence Award is the country’s highest state honor.

The recipients of the award in Liberation War and Independence category are martyred intellectual Mufazzal Haider Chaudhury and martyred ATM Zafar Alam, Liberation War Affairs Minister AKM Mozammel Haque and former Housing and Public Works Minister Mosharraf Hossain, Dr Kazi Misbahun Nahar, late Prof Abdul Khaleque and late Prof Mohammad Khaled.

Brigadier General Dr Nurunnahar Fatema Begum received the award in Medical Science, while Dr Qazi Kholiquzzaman Ahmad in Social Service, Murtaja Bashir in Culture, Hasan Azizul Haque in Literature, Prof Dr Hasina Khan in Research and Training.

Bangladesh Institute of Nuclear Agriculture (BINA) received the award in Science and Technology category.

Each award recipient was given a medal weighing 50 grams of gold of 18 carat, Tk 3 lakh and a citation.

Since 1977, Bangladesh has been honoring individuals and institutions with the award every year ahead of Independence Day on Mar 26.

Agency`s Input

Bangla Insider/ZRM