Dhaka, Friday, 26 April 2019
Bangla Insider

21 persons to get Ekushey Padak

National Desk
Published on : 06 February 2019, 04:56 PM
21 persons to get Ekushey Padak

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will give the prestigious Ekushey Padak to 21 eminent citizens of the country on February 20.

The Ministry of Cultural Affairs has announced the names of the 21 eminent persons.

Prof Halima Khatun (posthumous), Advocate Golam Arif Tipu and Prof Monowara Islam have been selected for their roles in the Language Movement. 

Subir Nandi, Azam Khan (posthumous) and Khairul Anam Shakil are being recognised for their contributions to music while Lucky Enam, Suborna Mustafa and Liaquat Ali Lucky for performing arts. 

Sayeda Khanam and Jamal Uddin Ahmed have been chosen for their contributions to photography and fine arts respectively while Khitindra Chandra Baishya is getting the Ekushey Padak for his role in the Liberation War. 

Dr Biswajit Ghosh and Dr Mahbubul Haque have been picked for the award for their research while Dr Pranab Kumar Barua is being awarded for his contribution to education. 

Rizia Rahman, Imdadul Haq Milon, Ashim Saha, Anwara Syed Haq, Mainul Ahsan Saber and Harishankar Jaladas are getting the award for contributing to language and literature.

Each recipient will get a gold medal, a certificate, and a cheque of Tk two lac.

It is the second-highest civilian award in Bangladesh.

Bangla Insider/ZRM