Dhaka, Saturday, 20 July 2019
Bangla Insider

37 MPs banned, list getting longer

Published on : 11 September 2018, 02:12 PM
37 MPs banned, list getting longer


As far as the election is approaching, internal conflicts of Awami League are becoming public and violent. 37 MPs have been banned in their respective areas so far. Due to various incidents, this list is expected to be longer over time.

Birganj-Kaharole Awami League Oikya Parishad has announced Dinajpur-1 MP Manoranjan Shill Gopal ineligible with the allegation of irregularities, corruption and cooperation in establishing Jamaat-e-Islami in the area.

Barguna district Awami League and its related organizational leaders have declared MP of Barguna-1 constituency and District Awami League president Advocate Dhirendra Debnath Shambhu unwanted for irregularities and corruption.

Besides, Rajshahi-5 MP and Awami League parliament member Kazi Abdul Wadud Dara has also been declared unwanted in his respective Puthia-Durgapur area.

The more worrying thing is the local Awami League leaders and activists of Barisal-4 constituency held a press conference with the banner of `torture, terrorism, corruption and drug prevention committee` against the MP and general secretary of Shecchasebok League Pankaj Debnath.

Besides, the local Awami League committee proposed to expel an MP of Bogra. It is also heard that another MP of Rajshahi is on the verge of expulsion.

According to the sources, the Awami League MPs have been declared unwanted in 37 districts till now. The local Awami League has stood against thode MPs. Apart from this, there are 65 constituencies where the disputes between the MPs and the AL local committees and Upazila Chairmen have become public. These incidents prove that Awami League itself has become their own opponents. As a result, there are frequent cases of turmoil and violence in the electoral areas. Election-related conflict and nomination competitions are being published publicly through the activities of some Awami League politicians.

Such an exhibition of the party dispute has made the AL leaders anxious. In order to solve the issue, the show cause notice has been sent to 14 leaders including the MPs of Dinjapur, Rajshahi and Barguna.

Besides, notices have been sent to Sylhet Central Organizing Secretary Advocate Misbah Uddin Siraj and Central Committee Member and Sylhet Metropolitan Awami League President Badar Uddin Kamran since the internal conflicts have been blamed for the defeat in the Sylhet City election.

In addition, many names of the Awami League`s designated leaders in different districts are on the list of show cause. However, there are no positive results are being observed despite the steps taken. Rather, Awami League`s internal conflicts are intensifying day by day.


BanglaInsider/ SM